Description

Born in Cleethorpes, Tracy Baines's parents acquired The Pier Hotel, a pub opposite Cleethorpes Pier, when she was 8 years old. One of the rooms had been closed up by a previous owner, and her father renovated and reopened the room as a music venue. The venue played host to many performers including Billy Fury, Wayne Fontana and the Mindbenders, and Billy J Kramer.

Not surprisingly, this instant access created a huge passion for live entertainment in Baines. Throughout the summer and pantomime seasons, Tracy and her sisters enjoyed seeing a variety of performers at the end of the pier show.

At 16, Tracy began working backstage during the summer seasons, with pantos and everything else on Cleethorpes Pier. It was here that Baines met her husband when she was working as Assistant Stage Manager and we appeared alongside the Nolan sisters.

From the age of sixteen, Tracy worked backstage during summer seasons, pantomimes and everything else in between on the pier. She met her husband when he was appearing with the Nolan Sisters and she was Assistant Stage Manager.

The first two books in the Variety Girls series are set in Cleethorpes, in the square mile that was her childhood home.

Tracy lives in Dorset with her husband and springer spaniel, Harry. Her children and grandchildren live close by.

 

TRACY BAINES BOOK BLURBS

The Variety Girls

A brand new series full of friendship, singing and laughter as war looms...
Cleethorpes 1939

With the country teetering on the brink of war everyone faces an uncertain future.

Destitute after the tragic death of her father, aspiring singer Jessie Delaney and her family have no choice other than to accept the charity of relatives to ensure a roof over their heads.

Spiteful Aunt Iris soon has Jessie dreaming of a life filled with colour and excitement that she knows the theatre can offer. How can Jessie escape the drudgery, support her family and pursue her dreams?

Through her father’s connections, Jessie finds work as a Variety Girl in a new show at the Empire in Cleethorpes, a small seaside theatre on the east coast. But taking the job means flying solo and leaving her family and her sweetheart, Harry behind.

Friendships are forged but will the glamour of show business lose its shine without those she loves close by?

A gritty and heart-warming saga perfect for readers of Elaine Everest, Nancy Revell and Pam Howes.

 

Hopes and Dreams for the Variety Girls

As war is declared can The Variety Girls keep smiling through…

Cleethorpes – September 1939

Struggling to keep their spirits up as the reality of war hits home and theatres are closed, friends Jessie Delaney and Frances O’Leary search for work to see them through until they can sing and dance again.

Frances, once upon a time followed her dreams of becoming a dancer but soon found herself with a broken heart and a precious secret when her lover abandoned her. Keeping her secret from her friends grows more difficult as time passes and their friendship grows.

But with her lover returning to England from a successful tour of America, how long will it be before the truth comes to light?

Secrets aren’t good for anyone and Frances isn’t the only one hiding things from her friends. Ginny Thompson, another Variety Girl is hoping for the best. But is hope enough?

Can the Variety Girls pull together to help each other through the tough times or will their secrets tear them apart?

A gritty and heart-warming saga perfect for readers of Elaine Everest, Nancy Revell and Pam Howes.

 

The Women of Fishers Wharf

Can you leave the past behind and embrace the future?

Great Grimsby, 1912

After the death of his father and brother, newlywed fisherman Alec Hardy decides to make a fresh start with his young wife Letty and move from Lowestoft to the thriving fishing port of Grimsby in search of a brighter future.

Young Letty is from farming stock and knows nothing of the hard life as a fishermen’s wife but is willing to leave behind her warm-hearted and loving family and embrace the challenge.

But where Alec goes, so does his widowed mother, Dorcas and she has yet to come to terms with taking second place in her son’s life. She resents her son’s choice of wife and the two women clash.

With Alec at sea for weeks on end and with her grieving and bitter mother-in-law as her only companion, Letty seeks escape among the streets of Fish Dock Wharf.

Can Letty help them break free from the shadows of the past or will she be bound by Dorcas’ insistence that they cling to the old ways?

 

All books are available as eBook, paperback, hardback, large print and audio on Amazon and either in-store or for order in all bookshops.

Available in local libraries.

 

Categories
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review